Day 1 - Roborock S7 MaxV

Day 1 - Roborock S7 MaxV

I have been using an Roomba i7 for 4 years. It was loud and with pets struggled with hair. Working at home, I needed unit that was far more quiet. I did my research and landed on buying the Roborock S7 MaxV and today it arrived.

Unboxing and setting up was easy. And that is where it ended. It was not easy to figure out how to get the unit started on mapping the house, and when I realized the time it was going to take I had to stop it and choose to start again. Well it never seems to want to start a fresh map like new. I am happy to discard of the original map and start all over. But it continues to try and clean right away.

I also have a number of throw rugs in my home sitting on primarily hardwood floors and large size tile floors. I have a couple larger heavier room rugs, but never has gotten there. The throw rugs just seem to create a huge challenge for the unit. I am talking rugs that are 3'x4' and washable. It gets caught up and twisted every single rug no matter where in the house. This has resulted in my stopping cleaning jobs several times and once again losing the map.

So what do I do about these rugs? Will I need to lift them all each time I run the robot? That seems a little backwards because the whole idea is for this to clear whenever and I may not be home when that happens. Please tell me there is some setting I can use to fix this.